A Flurry of Recipes

Every day at the end of classes I am starving. Literally can not wait to get home and start making dinner. I started to ask myself why this was.  Well it probably has something to do with the fact that I stalk food blogs instead of pay attention in class like I should. I need to stop doing this for two reasons – (1) I need to pay attention in class. (2) I need to stop eating stuff so early because then I get hungry again and eat late. Which is bad.

But I did want to share some of the things I have been making over the past few weeks that are not my own creation. These following recipes all come from my favorite food blogs! So take a look and see what you find that you enjoy!

Cajun Chicken Pasta on the Lighter Side

photo (22)

This recipe is from Skinny Taste. One of my favorites. Its delicious. And I made it just in time for Mardi Gras.

photo (21)

It does take a little longer, but its worth it. I also added some green onions and mixed those in with the chicken and peppers. It also makes enough to last for almost a whole week of lunches. Perfect for a busy law student.

Lightened Up Curry Egg Salad

photo (18)

If you haven’t noticed by now, I love curry. Curry everything. So when I saw this pop up on one of my favorite blogs, I jumped at it! My roommates may have hated me that day because I made it the same day I made Curried Chickpea Stew (recipe coming soon!) and our whole apartment smelled like curry. (Sorry guys!!!) Anyways, this was delicious.

photo (20)

I put in too many peppers and onions, and didn’t use enough egg. But it tasted good. I also left out the mango. Mostly because I didn’t have any. Another suggestion – if you are like me, and want a standard egg salad but lightened up, you  don’t have to take out ALL of the yolks. Half and half are fine!

Red Beans and Andouille Sausage

Oh my goodness was this a great recipe!  I loved it! I, again, did not have the correct type of sausage, so I used turkey sausage instead. (I know, I really need to go grocery shopping…)

photo (17)photo (19)

Obviously, it would have been better with real andouille sausage, but alas, this had to do. And I still loved it! Very simple recipe. But really good. I mean, who doesn’t love anything with creole seasoning!

Ok friends, go try some of these out! And while you’re at it – explore some of the other great recipes on these blogs! They are wonderful!! And most of them are really healthy too!

Leave a comment