Summer Risotto

Wow. What a whirlwind year! My first year of law school is done and over and finished. (well I’m still waiting for grades, but I’m pretty positive I didn’t fail any classes, so I’m counting myself as done) And now its summer and its  wonderful! I have a really interesting internship with a state government agency working with Medicaid clients. I’m working with Administrative Law Judges and helping them write decisions on cases and hearings! I’m also taking Evidence class over the summer. Twice a week for three hours at night. Mondays and Wednesday are long days, but I don’t mind! Weekends are great. Art festivals, the beach, shopping, concerts, Cubs games, all that Chicago has to offer in the summer! I also, finally bought a grill and made some delicious grilled veggies and brats for Memorial Day!

IMG_1988

As I was browsing all of the blogs I follow, I stumbled upon this amazing risotto recipe. Risotto is a delicious dish by itself. It is kind of a rice/pasta combination that is creamy and cheesy and delicious. But it is a fairly heavy dish. So how do you lighten up a heavy, creamy, cheesy dish to make it perfect for summer? Add some delicious summer ingredients to fill up your bowl and take up space! Peas, mint, spinach, prosciutto! All wonderful additions to this risotto.

Summer Risotto

IMG_2441
Ingredients:

IMG_2432

2 tablespoons olive oil
1 cup chopped onions
Salt and pepper to taste (you will want a decent amount for flavor)
1 cup Arborio rice
1/2 cup vermouth or dry white wine
2 1/2 cups low sodium/low fat (or any combination) chicken broth
5 oz baby spinach
1 cup frozen peas
2 MORE cups chicken broth
2 tablespoons fresh chopped mint
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 cup grated Parmesan or Italian cheese
2 oz sliced prosciutto

Directions:

IMG_2433

Good ole two buck chuck!Directions:

  1. Heat olive oil in a saucepan and add the onions and salt and pepper. Cook until tender.
  2. Add rice and stir for about two mins or until opaque. Add more salt and pepper.
  3. Add vermouth or wine and cook until completely absorbed.
  4. Add 2 1/2 cups chicken broth, 1/2 cup at a time, stirring frequently. BE PATIENT. This is the hardest part about making risotto. It will all get absorbed. I promise!
  5. Stir in the spinach (it will wilt down dramatically), peas, and mint.
  6. Add 2 more cups broth, 1/2 cup at a time, until rice is creamy and tender.
  7. Add lemon juice, cheese, and prosciutto. Serve hot!

IMG_2438

Leave a comment